Sikma, Moncrief, Weatherspoon, Jones, Fitch among 2019 HOF class

Sikma, Moncrief, Weatherspoon, Jones, Fitch among 2019 HOF class

Jones was best known for his defensive ability; he was selected to an All-Defensive team (ABA and NBA) 11 times in his 12 pro seasons.

Joining Moncrief in this year's class are two-time NBA Coach of the Year Bill Fitch, eight-time NBA All-Defensive First Team member Bobby Jones, seven-time NBA All-Star Jack Sikma, five-time WNBA All-Star Teresa Weatherspoon, five-time NBA All-Star Paul Westphal and the first men's collegiate team to win back-to-back-to-back championships, the Tennessee A&I teams of 1957-1959. Four years after his final game as a player, he led Golden State to the 1975 title.

A 12-year National Basketball Association veteran, Westphal played three seasons with the Celtics (1972-1975), one season with the SuperSonics (1980-81) and two seasons with the Knicks (1981-1983) in addition to his time with the Suns.

The 2019 Enshrinement Ceremony will take place on Friday, Sept. 6 in Springfield, MA.

They include Al Attles from the Contributor Committee, Charles "Chuck" Cooper from the Early African American Pioneers Committee, Vlade Divac from the International Committee, Carl Braun from the Veterans Committee and the Wayland Baptist Flying Queens of 1948-1982 from the newly instated Women's Veterans Committee.

The Kansas City-based NAIA was well represented at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announcement on Saturday at the Final Four. He died in 2010 at the age of 82. He made five All-Star teams and was chosen five times to the All-NBA squad. He led the Boston Celtics to a title in 1981 and still holds the highest winning percentage of any coach in Celtics history (.738).

Moncrief was drafted fifth overall in the 1979 NBA Draft to the Milwaukee Bucks. Fitch, 86, worked as a head coach for 25 years and won twice the NBA Coach of the Year Award (1976 and 1980).

Paul Westphal, also five-time NBA All-Star, received Phoenix Suns Ring of Honor and had his No.44 jersey retired by the Phoenix Suns. He was a seventh-round pick of the Philadelphia Warriors in 1960 and played his first two seasons for the Warriors in Philadelphia before they moved to the San Francisco area. He also served three seasons as the Warriors' general manager. Weatherspoon was a five-time WNBA All-Star. Jones won a championship with the 76ers in 1983. The Tennessee A&I men's teams from 1957-59 that became the first collegiate team to win three straight championships and the Wayland Baptist University women's team that won 131 games in a row from 1953-58 and 10 Amateur Athletic Union national championships overall will also be enshrined in Springfield, Massachusetts, on September 6.

Moncrief played four years at Arkansas, where he led the Razorbacks to a Final Four appearance in 1978.

Related Articles