PlayStation to debut live State of Play showcase next week

PlayStation to debut live State of Play showcase next week

Sony's new "State of Play" conference will explore upcoming PS4 games and PSVR software and will be held on Monday, March 25. The first PlayStation State of Play will air on March 25, 2019 at 2pm PT/4pm CT/5pm ET.

Announced today via a blog post, PlayStation is launching "State of Play", a live broadcast that will bring "updates and announcements from the world of PlayStation".


The studio, whose members include Justin Roiland of Rick and Morty fame, has revealed that the zany, comedy-fueled platformer will also be making its way to Steam and the Epic Game Store. Both the PlayStation 4 and the PlayStation VR were mentioned in Sony's announcement, though it didn't specify which way the majority of the reveals would skew between the two platforms.

If we had to guess, we'd say it's likely that we'll hear more about Ghost of Tsushima, The Last of Us Part II and Death Stranding, all of which are hotly-anticipated titles but none of which now have known release dates. It'll be livestreamed in a variety of places, including Twitch, YouTube, Facebook, and even Twitter.


We'd be lying if we said the prospect of PlayStation pulling out of E3 altogether (save when it decides to officially unveil the PS5 - you can bet your bottom dollar it'll be at the show in one form or another then) wasn't somewhat bittersweet. With the company skipping out on attending E3, it will be particularly interesting to see if they host a State of Play stream around that time to make sure that they still get a share of the spotlight. Are we going to see an approach similar to Nintendo's Direct, where we see up and coming games? There are 30 new games released across PS4, PS Vita and PS VR in a lineup headlined by Sony San Diego's MLB The Show 19. Thankfully, we won't have to wait too much longer to find out what SIE has planned.


Related Articles