AP, T'gana to go to polls on April 11..

AP, T'gana to go to polls on April 11..

The Election Commission announced that the general elections will be held in seven phases and the final counting of votes will take place on May 23.

- 3rd phase on 23rd April. The results would be announced on 23 May.

As soon as the elections, in which Prime Minister Narendra Modi will make his bid to return to power amid hectic parleys by several political parties to put a united fight against the ruling BJP, are announced, the model code of conduct will come into force.

Even the parliamentary election for the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat in the state is going to be held in three phases, he said, underscoring the security challenge in the region.

The prolonged polling process will put a lot of pressure on the people because the elections would stretch through the summer months of April-May, during which time, Ramzan is also held, the party said. The elections to the world's largest democracy will be held for 543 seats on almost 10 lakh polling booths across the country, with around 90 crore voters ready to exercise the franchise.

It had been speculated that simultaneous polls would also be held in Jammu and Kashmir.

1st phase polling to be held on 11th April, 2nd phase on 18th April, 3rd phase on 23rd April, 4th phase polling to be held on 29th April, 5th phase polling on 6th May, 6th phase polling on 12th May, 7th phase 12th May.

The Jammu and Kashmir assembly was dissolved in November previous year, months after the Mehbooba Mufti-headed government in the state fell following the BJP withdrawing support to it in June.

"In light of the failure to conduct assembly elections on time in J&K I'm retweeting my tweets from a few days ago". The last date for filing of nominations is March 25.

According to the new rules laid out by the election commission, the candidates are required to give their details of the properties that they hold overseas, aside of the ones that are there in the country in their poll affidavits. Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Lakshadweep.

The term of the present Lok Sabha ends on June 3.

Related Articles