Ballon d'Or: Luka Modric ends dominance of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo

Ballon d'Or: Luka Modric ends dominance of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo

Croatian magician Luka Modric pipped some big names to the top individual honor in world football in Paris on Monday evening but not everyone was happy that Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi's era of dominance was halted.

After a shortlist of 3o players was selected by France Football magazine, a jury of global journalists voted on the players they considered first, second and third.

"As a kid we have dreams".

The legendary Gerd Muller was the first ever German to win the Ballon d'Or when he lifted the trophy in 1970.

Messi netted 49 goals for club and country, leading his side to win the La Liga title but a poor World Cup show with Argentina deprived him of the prestigious award this year.

Messi was relegated to the relative backwaters, by his standards, of fifth behind Griezmann's worldwide team-mate Kylian Mbappe, with Liverpool and Egypt striker Mohamed Salah the first Premier-League based player in the list. Brazilian
Neymar, third a year ago, was 12th despite a
domestic treble with Paris Saint-Germain.

He is the first Croatian to win the Ballon d'Or since it was initiated as a European award in 1956.

Hegerberg refused and quickly left the stage. There's a lot of discussions to take and to bring on the table as a woman in 2018.

Modric, who has won the Champions League four times with Madrid, was fifth in Ballon d'Or polling past year.

Before Modric won this year's award, the last player other than Messi or Ronaldo to win the Ballon d'Or was Kaka in 2007.

Alongside the Ballon d'Or, the inaugural Trophee Kopa award was also handed out at the ceremony in Paris, with Paris Saint-Germain striker Kylian Mbappe scooping the award for best young player under the age of 21.

"Taking a stand against what she describes as a lack of respect for female players in Norway, Hegerberg hasn't played for the natihe word "proud" but today I'm really proud", she told The AP.

Ronaldo finished in second place, while Griezmann of Atletico Madrid and France came in third.

Croatia lost 4-2 to France in Moscow in the final in July.

"They deserve it because of what they did with the national team at the World Cup and also because of the trophies they won with their clubs", Deschamps said.

The Portuguese - who wasn't in attendance at the event - has won the previous two iterations, but missed out to former Real Madrid teammate Luka Modric. "I do not know".

Related Articles