Former No 1 Pliskova loses it, smashes umpire's chair

Adjust Comment Print

Former world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova blew up at the Italian Open, smashing her racket several times on the umpire chair in frustration after a blown call ultimately decided her fate in the second round.

In Rome on Wednesday, Karolina Pliskova lost her cool in a 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 loss to Maria Sakkari.

Incredibly, the ball was called out and upon protestations from Pliskova, the linesman and the umpire couldn't find her ball's mark in the clay surface - so, the call stood.


If Pliskova didn't show her distain to her opponent, she certainly did to Mrozinska, as she swung her racket three times, causing considerable damage to the umpire's chair.

Pliskova was served at 30-all with the final set deadlocked at 5-5 and went on to lose the match very much based on that decision.

A seething Pliskova made her feelings clear after the match when she made a brief handshake with the victor and then stretched her hand out in an apparent attempt to shake hands with Mrozinska before quickly withdrawing it.


USA Today adds that no punishment or fine has yet to be announced by the Women's Tennis Association.

"Umpire and line judge were shockingly bad".


Comments