Facebook launches three new India-first features, here are the details

Adjust Comment Print

"It is common for people in India to share devices...people have told us they want to save their photos to a more personal space that is tied to their identity and not just the device they are using", said Connor Hayes, Director of Product Management, Facebook.

There are three new Facebook features coming to India first, then the rest of the world.

Now, users have the option to save photos or videos directly to Facebook's Camera, instead of being forced to save them to their phone's camera roll. This is also helpful in the situation when one has shot as well as edited the images using the Facebook camera and the user does not want to share the image immediately on social media. The difference between their archives and Facebook's is the latter automatically saves your Stories, so you'll never lose pics you wanted to save. As the name suggests, this feature allows you to share a moment without having to share a photo or video.


Save to your Facebook account, rather than your phone.

In the coming weeks, the company is going to introduce an archive for people to save the stories most important to them.

Users will be able to put a background colour to audio posts or a background picture.


Have you ever wondered just how much "bad stuff" goes up on Facebook, and how the platform enforces its Community ... Second, users will be able to share audio-only clips on Stories or to upload audio, along with a photo that was taken previously. This feature is available on Facebook for Android for now. Voice posts give people a new medium through which to express themselves. The pitch, to both publishers and brands, is that its software allows them to create a significant amount of video content with minimal investment of time and money. Facebook says this will be private to the user, through traditionally Stories disappear after 24 hours. Now, Voice posts will be a new option in the Facebook Camera.

You'll need to tap the Archive button (looks like a small clock) that is located in the Stories section above your News Feed. Facebook will also provide a disable Stories Archive option to stop Facebook from saving your old stories. You can also reshare them as a story or post it on News Feed. The feature is quite similar to Snapchat's where users can save their photos to the app and is visible only to them. Under this feature, the stories are archived after they disappear after 24 hours.


Comments