Karnataka election: EVM, VVPAT dispatched to polling booths

Adjust Comment Print

If Modi secures a victory today, his party will nearly certainly see continued success as Karnataka is one of the only major states held by Congress.

"I thank them for their support and wish them well", People are lining up in Badami constituency where Cngress candidate for CM post Siddaramaiah is contesting against BJP's B Sriramulu.

The JD (S) of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda may emerge as the kingmaker in Karnataka.

The Election Commission has put the interim voterturnout for Karnataka Assembly elections at 70%. The voting which began at 58,546 polling stations, is equipped with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and VVPATs. Across Karnataka, various couples were seen casting their votes before or after their wedding ceremonies. This in itself hints at the BJP, under the leadership of BS Yeddyurappa, performing well in its strongholds of south, coastal Karnataka. The state polls in Karnataka is being seen as game-changer with analysts saying that the results are likely to set to the tone for next year's Lok Sabha elections when the Narendra Modi government will seek re-election.

On the question of who will be the chief minister, Siddaramaiah said, "The party has already chose to hold the election under my leadership".

Will these be one-sided elections with either of the parties getting the majority or will it be a hung assembly? The survey was conducted after the last vote for all but two of 224 Karnataka Assembly seats had been cast in the single-phased polling conducted today.

The Bharatiya Janata Party's Chief Ministerial face, B.S. Yeddyurappa, said earlier that people were with the BJP and that he will form the government by winning 145-150 seats. Polling in Jayanagar has been deferred due to death of BJP candidate Vijay Kumar and in Rajarajeshwari Nagar it has been deferred to May 28 after over 9500 EPIC cards were found illegally stored in a city apartment. The Congress will get more than 120 seats.

The counting of votes and announcement of results will take place on Tuesday.

Some 2,654 candidates, including 216 women, are in the fray for 222 seats out of a total 224.