KKR cruise past Delhi, Maxwell

Adjust Comment Print

Chasing 201-run target, Daredevils had a disastrous start as they lost three wickets in the first three overs. Rana took 35 balls for his 59. He hit 5 fours and 5 sixes until KKR's skipper took his catch. Russel and Rana put up 61 run stand before the West Indian was clean bowled by Boult with old fashion Yorker. But the fall of his wicket and a brilliant last over by Rahul Tewatia - where the leg-spinner conceded just one run and bagged 3 wickets, restricted the scorecard to 200/9.

WICKET! Dinesh Karthik's poor run with the bat continues as he manages to score just 19 runs before throwing away his wicket.

WICKET! Chris Lynn has to go back, Shami with the wicket. From there on, it was all downhill for Delhi as they lost wickets in a hurry.

Nitish Rana was the other batting hero, essaying a crucial role of anchoring the innings.

After losing Narine early, Uthappa and Lynn have been playing cautiously and only despatching bad balls to the boundary as Delhi pacers have hardly given them room to free their arms thanks to some tight bowling.

Despite being a little expensive, Trent Boult has picked up 4 wickets in 3 games. Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Daredevils by 71 runs with 34 balls remaining. Mavi then compounded the misery on them by sending the ever reliable Gambhir packing in the third leaving the Knight Riders reeling at 24/3. After having played for KKR past year, Boult would know how the pitch behaves at the Eden Gardens. His second ball just cleared the cover fielder for four, but the rest of his three boundaries and four sixes were much more convincing.

In the head-to-head count, KKR lead by 12-8 but the hosts will be up against it on Monday, looking to comeback to get their house in order. Sunil Narine failed to shine with the bat as he headed back to the pavilion in the third over. Trent Boult got the initial breakthrough but Robin Uthappa looked in great touch as he raced away to 35 in no time before he was dismissed.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, R Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searless, Apoorv Wankhade, Ishank Jaggi and Tom Curran. But Rishabh Pant and Glenn Maxwell tried to counter-attack but both fell in their 40s as DD were bowled out for 129 as all KKR bowlers chipped in with wickets. At one stage we thought they will not get to 170-175 but then getting to 200 was a good effort by them.

The big-hitting Russell smashed six sixes, Mohammed Shami in particular coming in for some treatment while Jason Roy was left to rue putting down a hard chance to remove the dangerman when he had only seven to his name.