Bypolls: SP takes lead in UP's Gorakhpur, Phulpur; NDA leading in Bihar

Adjust Comment Print

The counting of votes for the by-election for three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar is underway.

Gorakhpur Bypoll: SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad leading with 89950 votes, BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla second with 82811 votes after 6th sound of counting.

Counting of votes in the bye-elections for five Lok Sabha and Assembly seats in Bihar and Uttar Pradesh began at 8 am on Wednesday.

After 11 rounds in Phulpur, Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading by 15,733 votes.

In Bihar, the BJP is leading in Bhabua assembly constituency by about 2,500 votes - a seat that is already held by it.

While the lead in the Phulpur constituency is substantial at over 10,000 votes, the exact extent of leads in Gorakhpur can not be estimated.

However, a large chunk of the Muslim votes, which used to traditionally go to the SP, is expected to go to independent candidate and local strongman Atiq Ahmed this time, helping the BJP.

Phulpur bypoll: SP's Nagendra Singh Patel leading by 1399 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second. Gorakhpur is the sitting seat of UP Chief Minister Adityanath.

After casting his vote in Gorakhpur, Adityanath had claimed that the BJP was getting a widespread support from the people, while Maurya had said his party would win both the seats. The Rashtriya Janata Dal was ahead in Jehanabad by almost 8,900 votes. In the prestigious Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat, the home turf of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla was trailing behind Praveen Nishad of the SP by over 1,500 votes at the end of third round of counting.

In Araria, the voter turnout was 57%, while Jehanabad and Bhabua saw 50% and 54% voting. But it was triangular fight at Gorakhpur between the BJP, SP-BSP and the Congress.

In Bihar's Araria, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress are pitted against the BJP-Janata Dal (United) alliance and it's the first big test for Nitish Kumar after he walked out of the Grand Alliance previous year to team up with the BJP.

In Araria, Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate Pradip Kumar Singh is leading over RJD candidate Sarfaraz Alam.