BJP, Congress put out lists for March 23 Rajya Sabha polls

Adjust Comment Print

The date for withdrawal of names is March 15 and if necessary then voting will be done on March 23.BJP is having enough strength in Assembly to retain all its four Rajya Sabha seats.

Likewise, lone Rajya Sabha candidate of Congress also reached Assembly to file his nomination papers and he was also flanked by senior party leaders. In case the election is necessary, it would be conducted on March 23 from 0900 hrs to 1600 hrs.

Naranbhai Rathwa and Amee Yajnik will contest from Gujarat, while Dhiraj Prasad will contest from Jharkhand. The party has fielded candidates for 9 states only.

Finance Minister Jaitley, a sitting member of the Upper House from Gujarat, was among the 11 BJP nominees who filed their papers from Uttar Pradesh.

All candidates are required to file nominations by today (Monday, March 12). BJP leaders have claimed that Ms Rahatkar is a dummy candidate and has been asked to file her nomination only as a precautionary measure.

By fielding the three candidates L Hanumanthaiah, Syed Nazeer Hussen and G C Chandrashekhar from Karnataka, the party makes clear its intention to go for an extra seat from the state.

With the BJP's tally in the state assembly only being 99, it has the strength to get only two candidates elected. The Congress can also send two candidates.

The RJD has fielded two candidates - its national spokesman Manoj Jha and Ashfaq Karim, who runs a medical college in Katihar district of the state. On Sunday, BJP released a list with 18 names, while Congress released the list with 10 names who will be contesting for the upcoming Rajya Sabha.

Rajya Sabha nominations need the support of 10 MLAs.

"MIM party has chose to support TRS party candidates in Rajya Sabha elections", he said on a social networking site. However, the fight will be between the third candidate of the Congress and JDS's Farooq. Since they are officially the Congress MLAs as per records, the party can bring a psychological pressure on them by issuing a whip to vote for the official candidate.