New PUBG patch adds a friends list, emotes, and Steam achievements

Adjust Comment Print

Starting tonight, March 12, at 7 PM PT / 10 PM ET (3 AM CET on March 13), developer PUBG Corp. will take the PC servers down for roughly three hours as it performs maintenance and moves the current test build over to the live game.

The latest patch, now being tried out on test servers, will bring some big new additions including friends lists, emotes, and achievements.

12 default emotes are now available, with more being added in the future.

PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds (PUBG) has received its latest update on Xbox One, delivering an assortment of fixes to its Xbox Game Preview version.

A friends list specific to PUBG has been added to the game, and you can add up to 50 people to the list. So how can you access them?

Voice chat has also been added to the main menu, where a speaker icon will be displayed to the right of the talking player's name.

"With this patch, we are bringing various optimizations to our server and client", PUBG Corp. wrote in a post on Steam.

According to Bluehole Inc, this will include mitigating lag and stutter instances and alleviated frame drop and lag occurrences happening when players are pushed together.

Another 37 achievements have also been added to the Steam Gaming list today, meaning more for hardcore players to try their luck at.

There are also still plans to introduce and test the new limb and vehicle penetration system, but this has been pushed back for now.

"Battle Royale" is now the king of the battle royale genre and is going stronger after months of being second to "PUBG". For that reason the developers Bluehole chose to roll back the update, in order to fix those issues.