Maha: Rane, Ketkar file nominations for Rajya Sabha polls

Adjust Comment Print

The BSP is counting heavily on the "surplus" votes of the SP, besides support from the Congress and the RLD for the victory of its lone candidate in the Rajya Sabha biennial elections from Uttar Pradesh.

Monday is the final day for filing of nominations.

With 99 MLAs in a 182-member Assembly, the BJP can easily win two seats.

Independent MLAs like Raghuraj Pratap Singh aka Raja Bhaiyya, Vinod Saroj, Aman Mani Tripathi and Vijay Mishra sided with the BJP in the presidential election.

From Gujarat, the BJP has nominated ministers Mansukh L. Mandaviya and Purshottam Rupala.

Meanwhile, finally Narayan Rane, former chief minister and president of Maharashtra Swabhimani Party (BJP) agreed to go to Delhi in Rajya Sabha.

Praising the BJP leaders after they filed their nominations, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who was also present at the event, said all the four BJP nominees are capable leaders and they will not only contribute towards the development of the state, but also of the country.

The stage is set for the Rajya Sabha elections.

However, the fight will be between the third candidate of the Congress and JDS's Farooq. During Muraleedharan's tenure as state president, BJP had secured a vote share of 15.20 per cent in 2016 Lok Sabha election.

In terms of caste equation, the party has made a decision to field Naseer Hussain, a minority community leader from Ballari, L. Hanumanthaiah, a dalit from Bengaluru Rural and G.C. Chandrashekar a Vokkaliga from Hassan.

The polls are being held for 58 Rajya Sabha seats across states, of which six are in Maharashtra.

To a query, Mr Chandrasekhar said the natural alliance and relationship with BJP for many years was one of the reasons for him to join the saffron party.

Abhishek Manu Singhvi, who is also representing Karti Chidambaram, son of former finance minister P Chidambaram in the INX Media case, will contest from West Bengal where the Trinamool Congress has already announced its support for his candidature.

"Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis has started calling the disgruntled among our legislators", a Congress politician said from Mumbai. However, with no choice left, the JD (S) now makes a plan forward, to get ahead with the political game.

The opposition party is backing independent candidate P.K. Valera, a former bureaucrat, who threw his hat in the ring at the last minute due to technical hitches with Rathwa's candidature.