WhatsApp has again changed its 'message deletion' feature

Adjust Comment Print

On New Year's Eve, WhatsApp set a new record with 75 billion messages and that number eclipses any other day in its history with the previous record of 65 million on New Year's Eve 2016.

Curently only WhatsApp Android beta testers can make use of the the extended deadline for "Delete for Everyone" feature. To be precise, one hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds, beyond which, the user can not erase messages. The Twitter account said, "In order to stop these bad users, WhatsApp has implemented a "Block revoke request" feature".

Now, the company is testing a new feature, which would allow users to customize the shape and size of the WhatsApp icon on the home screen.

WhatsApp users across the globe breathed a collective sigh of relief last October when the app introduced a way of unsending messages that had already been dispatched - calling back missives from the ether, as long as you retrieved it within seven minutes or so. Along with this, the report also suggests that if the phone of the user is switched off during the time the Delete for Everyone' request has been sent out and it remains off for next 24 hours, then the request generated will be considered invalid and the message will remain in the app.

Recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful. Messages that have a time more than the 24 hours are no more deleted. To be precise, it's one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds, according to a tweet by WABetaInfo.

If you've sent something by mistake you can now delete it. Tap and hold it you'll pop-up window will appear with quick links to Reply, Forward, Copy and Delete.