Thanks to the Writers and Directors Guilds!

Adjust Comment Print

Dunkirk's Christopher Nolan and Jordan Peele, recognised for Get Out, round out the shortlist.

For the theme of first-timers, four of the five films nominated are first-time DGA nominees: Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water), Greta Gerwing (Lady Bird), Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missiouri) and Jordan Peele (Get Out). This is the first of his DGA nominations that also transfers to an Oscar nomination for Best Director, a category that he has yet to win in.

The Directors Guild of America dodged this bullet Wednesday by nominating Gerwig, making it just the eighth time the group has recognized a woman.

Previous female filmmakers to make the cut for the DGA Feature Film category include Barbra Streisand, Jane Campion, Sofia Coppola, and Kathryn Bigelow, who has twice been nominated, and won for 2008's The Hurt Locker. "Lion" helmer Garth Davis was also nominated for both a year ago, only to be passed over by the Academy in favor of Mel Gibson ("Hacksaw Ridge").

One of the more notable people who have been snubbed from the DGA is Steven Spielberg for The Post. The Directors' Guild of America must have taken this issue to heart because Gerwig and her team were chosen for their work for Lady Bird.

Peele, meanwhile, becomes the fourth black director nominated for a feature film, following Lee Daniels ("Precious"), Steve McQueen ("12 Years a Slave") and, last year, Barry Jenkins ("Moonlight").

Despite not being nominated for the Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director award, Gerwig has had a fantastic award season. I was nominated along 11 others on the PGA list, but it went home empty-handed after six nominations at Sunday's Golden Globes.

Contenders mirror numerous shows nominated for the Emmys and last weekend's Golden Globes.

The good news for Spielberg, Sean Baker ("The Florida Project") and others left off the DGA's list is that the academy hasn't completely matched the guild's director picks since 2010. Filmmaker Judd Apatow will host the ceremony in Beverly Hills, California on 3 February (18).