Al Roker blasts Hoda Kotb critic

Adjust Comment Print

And while Kotb, 53, will be doing double duty, co-anchoring while also continuing to co-host her 10 a.m. show with Kathie Lee Gifford, according to the Hollywood Reporter, her compensation won't be almost as much as Lauer's was.

Kotb had already been a success hosting the fourth hour of the show alongside Kathie Lee Gifford.

"Today" ratings soared to beat rival "Good Morning America" after Kotb joined Guthrie in December. Matt Lauer - who Kotb is replacing - made $25 million.

"Today" won't be an all-female zone in its first half, however, with longtime weather forecaster Al Roker and correspondent Carson Daly as regulars. Savannah announced that Hoda would be her permanent co-host during the show's Tuesday episode. "I really have done jobs I liked for the job I liked because I never wanted to be happy every other Friday on pay day", Kotb said. "I think that we should send some medics to Alexandria, Va., where my mom has likely fainted". Kotb may eventually decide to leave that gig. Hoda Kotb, who's been filling in for Lauer since his firing, has officially been hired as his replacement. Page Six reported yesterday that Kotb, who was named co-anchor on Monday, is getting paid $7 million a year for the job - the same as her co-host, Savannah Guthrie, meaning both women are paid considerably less than Lauer. The Daily Mail notes that "GMA typically wins in total viewers while Today has a hold on viewers ages 25-54, which is more important to advertisers".

Once we see some ratings with the new team in place, she could have even more leverage. Kotb took over for Lauer after he was dismissed over allegations of inappropriate sexual behaviour with a female employee. Other complaints and reports of crude behavior followed. He became the second morning television show personality to be terminated from a national network in a week because of alleged sexual misconduct.

"It's not that complicated", one unnamed source told the magazine. Substitutes have included Vladimir Duthiers, Bianna Golodryga, Dana Jacobsen, John Dickerson and Anthony Mason.