Actor Vishal out of RK Nagar bypoll fray

Adjust Comment Print

Amid allegations flying thick and fast, actor Vishal and his supporters have accused the Election Commission of botching up scrutiny of his nomination papers for the R K Nagar bypoll. I didn't forge any signatures.

Later, he held discussions with Velusamy at his office in Tondiarpet during which the returning officer is understood to have told him that the duo will have to be produced if his nomination papers will have to be accepted.

He also tweeted: "5th Dec 2016, Amma died, 5th Dec, 2017, Democracy died". Disheartening to hear that the nomination made by me was initially accepted & later when I left, has been announced as invalid.

Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam said as far as RK Nagar constituency is concerned, Madhusudhanan knows every voter in the constituency and his victory is certain given the overwhelming support AIADMK cadre gathered for the meeting.

On December 7, Vishal claimed that he was informed by media that the only way to get his nomination accepted was to produce the two individuals who have signed for him.

"I am Vishal, I hope you are aware of what's happening in the RK Nagar election process".

A day later, Vishal fought back and took the issue to Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Lakhoni seeking a review. The election commission rejected his nomination because his nomination papers only had eight proposers, not ten as mandated under the law. "I was pleading them to do justice".

Unfortunately, the two persons are reportedly untraceable.

In his tweet on Thursday, Vishal, as he is popularly known, said: "Still awaiting Democracy to lift its head up again". I'm very much anxious about their safety & security.

"As time passes by, Dheepan and Sumathi, who proposed my nomination are not traceable".

Vishal's dreams to contest his first assembly election has been shattered.

The actor told NDTV the duo's life might be under threat.

The RK Nagar assembly seat is vacant since the death of J Jayalalithaa. A total of 145 people filed their nomination papers of which 72 nominations have been accepted, while 73 have been rejected.

The major contest will be between the ruling AIADMK (E Madhusudhanan), DMK (N Marudhu Ganesh) and the side lined AIADMK leader T T V Dinakaran, now contesting as an independent candidate.

The result will be announced on December 24.