Commissioner for happiness defends her office, tells critics to "keep quiet"

Adjust Comment Print

Ololo told BBC that the Ministry of Happiness wasn't created by her brother, governor of Imo State Rochas Okorocha, exclusively because of her.

The statement further described the choice of Okorocha's sister, Ogechi Ololo, as the Supervisory Commissioner in charge of the ministry, as a wise choice considering her experience in administration.

The recently sworn in Imo State Commissioner of Happiness, Mrs. Ogechi Ololo has been under fire not only because of her being Governor Rochas Okorocha's sister, but for her the office she holds.

But Ololo argued that her brother should not be accused of nepotism.

Mrs. Ololo, who is also the Deputy Chief of Staff (Domestic and International Matters), is expected to retain her initial appointment.

The governor added that they had come to be part of the success story of his administration.

It is now to be known as the Ministry of Happiness and Purpose Fulfilment.

"Keke has served us well in Imo state and I want to thank you all for serving us well but as Imo state is developing and getting better with good roads and a lot of infrastructural developments, Keke can no longer be the appropriate means of transport within the Owerri City, this is why we are moving from Keke to a full auto".

"You are the privileged group that has the opportunity to make names for yourselves". We shall not tolerate any sharp practice or corruption of any type.

You have been called to duty to help us achieve our vision in the Rescue Mission Project. "To the Transition Committee Chairmen, you must ensure that ongoing projects must be completed especially the schools, chapels etc".

The governor announced the post during a swearing in ceremony of other 27 commissioners.

The development was greeted by sharp criticism from Nigerians at home and overseas.

The Transition Committee Chairmen sworn in include Okechukwu Onyechere (Ideato South); Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru); Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano); Akas Paschal, (Isu); Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli); Eke Chidi (Ngor Okpala); Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba); and Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre).