Nanded Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017: Counting of votes underway

Adjust Comment Print

Polling for the Nanded Waghala municipal corporation election 2017 was held on Wednesday and the results will be announced on Thursday. In the outgoing general body of the corporation the Congress had 41 members, followed by NCP (10), Sena (15), MIM (11), BJP (2) and Samvidhan Party (2).The prestige of Ashok Chavan, the former chief minister and Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee president was at stake in Nanded, where entire BJP has put its force to make him eat a humble pie.

The corporation has 3.96 lakh registered voters.

Counting of votes in this ward will be done twice - through EVMs as well as VVPAT machines, the election commission officials said. Trends and results are expected to be available in few hours time.

Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and Shiv Sena are the parties invloved in the tripartite struggle.

The Congress party had won 41 seats in the last elections with the BJP getting just two seats. Shiv Sena is leading on one seat, and AIMIM is trailing on all seats.

Congress is in power in Nanded since its foundation.

Congress have taken the lead in Chavan's stronghold.

There are 81 seats across 20 civic wards of the civic body. Nineteen wards are represented by four members each, while one ward has five representatives.

The Congress, which now hold the Nanded-Waghala Municipal Corporation (NWMC), seeks to retain the civic body while the BJP has gone all out to wrest control.

In the run up to the polls, Chief Minister Fadnavis had accused the Shiv Sena of lobbying with the Congress to defeat the BJP.

Congress that is now ruling the civic body is seeking to retain it while the BJP, that has been thumping all other parties in most local body polls is seeking to seize power in Nanded.